L.J. Smith Will No Longer be Writing ‘The Vampire Diaries’ Series

3 years ago, by

February 9, 2011

L.J. Smith has confirmed on her blog that she will no longer be writing The Vampire Diaries series. Below is her statement in full so there is no confusion:

First, I want to thank my readers for all their messages of support. I’ve gotten far too many emails to answer, and I really appreciate the kindness and emotional sustenance you’ve given to me at this difficult time.

Second, if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of The Vampire Diaries and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize. I really wasn’t looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this.

Third, and most importantly, I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone. It just doesn’t make sense. Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books. (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.) Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom.

Thanks again to all the fans who have shown loving and loyal kindness to me.

The publishers can technically do this as L.J. Smith doesn’t own the Vampire Diaries and the series belongs to Alloy Entertainment. L.J. Smith was hired back in 1990 to write the series for them, and signed a contract to say that the Vampire Diaries belonged to them. Alloy own the rights, and L.J. Smith has no say in what they do with the series.

Comment below and let us know what you think about this. Seems really unfair.

  • Ivana2161

    Finally! She was too subjective to some characters and it has ruined the characters and the story.

  • angry..

    No Ivana2161 your comparing the books to the show. L.J Smith wrote the best version where the people were real and actually showed real emotion instead of, “Oh i just met you five minutes ago but im willing to jump in front of a rain for you” bull crap that the show preaches

  • Twihate

    this is such BS

  • Itbelaura3

    Why. Why? Why? Why would they do that? I’m not going to read the books. I’ll look up a summary. If it doesn’t sound good, I’ll write my own. If someone else fails, I’ll pick it up, and I’m only 15. Grr.

  • Itbelaura3

    Why. Why? Why? Why would they do that? I’m not going to read the books. I’ll look up a summary. If it doesn’t sound good, I’ll write my own. If someone else fails, I’ll pick it up, and I’m only 15. Grr.

  • Brightwell16

    SCREW STEFAN AND BONNIE!!!!! ELENA AND DAMON BELONG TOGETHER. everyone knows it. if they dont end up together the books wont sell half as good. just give the series back to l.j. smith